Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Testimonials


On this page, you can read some of the reviews our patients have left in the past. We thrive on feedback from our patients, and encourage you to share your experience with us, at any stage in your treatment. If you have the time to leave us a review, please click on the Google+ button to the right. Thank you for taking the time to evaluate us!


Actual Patient Reviews
from around the web & our Social profiles

Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Emmitt Plott

Dr. Khan and his entire staff are great! I started out at 330 pounds and now....90 days later I am already 75 pounds lighter! I am still loosing every month! Life has never been better. The whole experience, has been a learning curve and Dr. Khan and his staff have been a huge source of information, support, guidance and encouragement! My only regret is that I waited so long to do this.
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Rhonda Burgamy

Dr. Ahad Khan performed Gastric Bypass surgery for me on June 30,2009. Before my surgery besides being overweight(I weighed 218 lbs and I was 5'2") I had high blood pressure, high cholesterol and I was a 4th generation diabetic. The day I went in for my surgery my blood sugar was 284 and less than 48 hours later it was down to less than 100. Now my A1c is perfect - as is my high blood pressure and high cholesterol. I dont take any prescriptions...the only thing I take is my iron,multi vitamin, b-12 and calcium.In after 3 years I weigh 128 and have maintained that only gaining 3 lbs the last year. I went from a size 18 pant and they were really too small and I refused to buy a larger size and an extra large blouse.I now wear a size 4 pants and a small blouse. This surgery was life changing and the best decision for me.
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Bennet R. Castro

It is my wish that whoever reads this note fully understands the truly extraordi-nary medical care I recently received from Dr. Ahad M. Khan, M.D. and his team.

I was referred to Dr. Khan for a condition that was affecting my blood pressure, heart rate and my general quality of life. From the moment I met Dr. Khan, I knew I was in good hands. Dr. Khan spent significant time examining me and discussing options and a plan of action. The attention, kindness and professionalism I encountered were nothing short of remarkable. I would be remiss if I failed to also mention his outstanding staff.

It has been three weeks since my surgery and I now have normal blood pressures and a healthy heart rate.

It is an absolute pleasure to have him as my doctor as well as my friend. May this letter reflect my utmost gratitude.
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Dean Martin

THe year was 2010 and I weighed about 350. I had one daughter and was happily married but I was unhealthy. My wife is a nurse and she was a bariatric patient and had the surgery. I was scared because she had a difficult time and lost really to my likings too much weight at first..but she was happy and I wasn't ..We decided that this was what was best for me..I was a person who was always Big but I was not this unhealthy..I then had an issue with my thyroid and my weight balooned..I tried everything and nothing worked...My thyroid levels were out of control even with meds...At the time we did not have insurance coverage so we took a lot of our savings and paid for the surgery... At first I felt great and reallly could not tell that I had the surgery..besides for the fact that I could not eat...I then got what they called stenotic so I thought this probably was not for me..i should have never had the surgery...Then we found out that my wife was pregnant...I already had a child but she did not and we did not have one together... Here we are 2 years later and I lost about 150 lbs . We have a beautiful 2 year old daughter that I am able to keep up with...It has not been an easy road but it has been a blessed one..Our family is now complete and I can say that I can I partly owe this to Dr. Khan and the surgery that he performed on me...I have a very close relationship with my surgeon and the gym and that has been the key to my success. I highly recommend not only this surgery but also Dr. Ahad M Khan.
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Sean McCallion

Starting Weight 361 Feb 2012
Todays Weight 274

The services,surgery,and office was very helpful in geting everything scheduled an in all aspects helping me. From Stephanie getting everything covered with my insurance to Dr. Khan performing the surgery. They were both there if any problems arose or any questions came up. They walked me through all stages and kept my family and I calm and at ease. Every aspect of what Dr. Khan said happened. I thank them both and continue to refer people to their office.

thank YOu
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Khadija Muhammad

I am grateful that I made the decision to come to Dr, Khan for gastric bypass surgery. It has only been 3 weeks since I had the surgery and I am already feeling better. I have had severe back pain for the past 5 years and ahve been unable to do normal daily activities such as grocery shopping and now I am able to walk and stand for 15-20 minutes without severe pain. Before I could only stand or walk for 5 minutes and be in excruciating pain. I thank Dr. Khan and his staff for holding me accountable for pre-op weight loss because it made me more disciplined. It is the best decision I have ever made.
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Latasha Hickson

am a 32 year old female that has struggled with my weight for as long as I can remember. After the birth of my second child my weight continued to increase. My weight reached as high as 256lbs, I had severe back pain, hypertension, allergies, and had trouble sleeping due to snoring. 3 ½ months ago I decided to make a change, not only for myself, but I needed to be healthy for my children as well as my husband. February 20, 2012 I made a phone call that completely changed my life forever. A young lady by the name of Stephanie Martin picked up the phone and guided me in the right direction.

Once I came into the office I meet the kindest, physician Dr Ahad Khan, He understood my concerns and was very sympathetic, he assured me this surgery will be life changing and if I did what I was supposed to do I would see the results I was looking for. Weeks later I was undergoing what is known as Gastric- by- pass, it has been 4 months and I am 156lbs, this was the best decision I have ever made, I am running up to 2 miles a day, I also able to keep up with my children schedule, and I am healthy again, I have no more issues with back pain, hypertension, allergies, and no problems sleeping. Every day I look in the mirror I smile because this person I see before me I do not recognize I recommend this surgery to anyone that has struggled with their weight and is striving to live a long and healthy life.
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Terri Brown

I made a decision that I just had to get healthy. Struggling with my weight since childhood, I had a hurting right foot as a result of a car crash in 1986. My back was giving me fits as I have 3 degenerative discs. At my heaviest , I weighed 272. When I met Dr. Khan, I weighed in at 249. Although I was a bit scared, I was even more afraid not to take a chance and proceed with sugical weight loss. now at 7 months out, I haven't felt this good in 20 years. I enjoy exercising at the gym as it creates more energy. This morning I weighed 182 and am still losing. Getting rid of 17 bags of "fat clothes" was triumphant. I went from size 26-28 to size 16-18. My only regret is not doing this surgery years earlier.
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Linda Balderas

I had the gastric bypass done October 2011 and I couldn't be happier with Dr. Khan and his team. Everyone was very helpful and encouraging. D., Khan is thorough and has the best bedside manner. I would encourage anyone considering the procedure to contact him. I have lost 67 pounds and went from a size 24 to a size 14, I have more energy, am no longer diabetic, my blood pressure is normal...the list goes on....Thank YOU Dr. Khan.
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Donna Newborn

I had my surgery in April 2012. The staff at Dr. Khans office was wonderful in explaining everything. The surgery itself was a breeze. I had no pain afterwards. I am now just over 3 months out of surgery and have lost 50 lbs and have only 35 more to go. I highly recommend Dr. Khan he is a great doctor and answers all your questions thoroughly. His office manager.nurse is always available for you as well.
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Patsy Dunlap

While my weight was a concern my main reason for surgery was my diabetes and blood pressure. Two weeks after surgery I was off medications for both of these conditions, and the weight loss was a plus. I would highly recommmend Dr. Khan and his staff. They have been very supportive and knowledgeable throughout this process. It is obvious they love their work and really care about their patients.
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Your Gratfeful Patient, Sandra Bates

Dr. Ahad Khan performed gastric bypass surgery on me in OCtober 2011. I have lost about 80 pounds. It is not August 2012, so it has been about 10 months. My goal is to lose 130 pouinds so I have 50 more to go. Before my decision to have the surgery, I was told by a liver specialist that I would not be alive in 1 year because my liver enzymes were over 200( should have not been over 40) as well as having high cholesterol(On pills), diabetes( on pills) high risk heard disease because of my family history, thyroid nodules(on pills), hiatal hernia (on pils) high blood pressure( on Pills), arthritis and back pain from a previous surgery.(couldn't hardly walk) .

After the sugery, Dr. Khan did a biopsy on my liver and discovered I had cirrhosis of the liver in stage 4. I weighed 257 pounds originlally, which was the most I have ever weighed . I weigh only 102 when I got married at 18 and after having 4 children and a miscarriage in 6 yrs; my weight balooned upward to over double. I had tried many diets and somer were successful, but I could never keep it off for very long. Each time I gained it back plus a little more. With back trouble, I could not walk to get exercise, so it was very hard to lose for the last 10 years of my life. WIth all my ailments, I had gotten to where I could not get out and go places or clean my house without having to lie down and rest every 30 minutes. Now I can do water aerobics and along with each pound I lose, I have got so much better that I can walk and climb stairs with almost no pain. I feel like a different person with the energy that has returned to my life. I thnak GOd for leading me to Dr. Khan and guiding him through my surgery and saving my life...THANK YOU DR. KHAN
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Amy Sloan

My name is Amy Sloan and I struggled with weight and body image for all of my adult life. Like all overweight and obese people, I have tried every diet known to man and even unvented some of my own. Most worked for about a minute and then weight always came back on with a vengeance!

At 41 years old and at the largest I have ever been, I decided to make a real change and take care of weight once and for all! I found Dr. Khan in my research for bariatric surgeons and was immediately impressed with the expertise he had to offer. Dr. Khan performed my gastric bypass surgery in October 2012. I have since lost 70 pounds! I have more weight to lose but for the first time ever I am not even worried about it!

Dr. Khan is an excellent surgeon and made this experience absolutely wonderful. I know exactly what to expect at every step in my weight loss process because of the excellent care – before, during and after surgery – that I have received. Thank you to Dr. Khan and his staff!
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Monica Brooks

Making the decision to have gastric bypass was a difficult decision. But once I met Dr. Khan, he eased my fears, addressed my concerns, and gave me the confidence needed to proceed.

Having the surgery has been the BEST and most important decision I have made concerning my health and well being. It has changed my life forever. My blood pressure has regulated, I sleep through the night, I have energy, and I am losing weight. Life couldn’t be better.

Dr. Khan and his staff will be there EVERY step of the way. You can call them for advice, guidance, and any other question or problem that you may have. You can depend on them to be there for you. Good luck on your weight loss journey. And please know that you have chosen an awesome doctor.
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Kim, Homerville, GA

I was 378 pounds when I had gastric bypass. I have lost 133 pounds in a year. I had no problem with the surgery. I went home the next day. It’s nice going into stores and being able to wear clothes without them being tight. It’s also nice getting out and being able to do things I couldn’t do before. Now I feel great. This surgery was one of the best decisions I have ever made. Dr. Khan and his staff are great and anytime you need them, they are there.
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Margaret Hawkins

I would love to thank the staff & the most amazing Dr Ahad Khan for giving my life meaning that I never thought possible. I would want everyone to know that it takes will power and the want to follow the rules &all your dreams can happen if you have always wanted to drop a few pounds, to even drop a lot of weight like I needed to do. When I started I was 324 lbs. and my health was a mess. I had multiple problems, high blood pressure, diabetes, heart problems like LVH due to weight management, sleep apnea and many more.

I now have only hypo thyroidism, and take my daily regiment of vitamins as prescribed. As of 2 years post op I have lost 140 lbs and have almost reached my goal of 150 lbs. My life has changed and even though I got pregnant less than a year out I have still maintained my will power to success, but please let me urge you to understand he doesn't want you to become pregnant for at least 2 years post op. I am so thankful for all he has done, support, encouragement and letting me believe in myself and helping me know I CAN DO IT!
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Melissa Bradley

When I cam into see Dr. Khan, I was at my heaviest weight of 248lbs. I came in met the office staff and Dr. Khan everyone here is awesome & will answer any questions you have. My goal weight is to be at 120 lbs, and with my new tool I know I will be successful.
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Ms Hubbard

My name is Ms Hubbard, and I was diagnosed as being morbidly obese. At my heaviest I weighed 298 lbs. I joined the gym and lost 50 or so pounds, and then the gym closed down. One day I was in a grocery store and by chance met a person who was talking to her friend about yogurt and how they didn't like it so we started talking and they told me about Dr. Khan. They told me how their life was transformed by him and this awesome procedure. It has been life changing, since the surgery in December of 2012, to date I have lost 46 pounds the first month was a little rough, but now I can "eat to live" and not "live to eat" It only takes a small amount to fill me up, and I am happy and pleased with all the compliments I am receiving from both men and women, friends who see me every day and those I haven't seen in a wile. I would just like to say a heartfelt "thank you" to Dr Khan and his remarkable staff who even at night answered my calls to help me.
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Jacque Harmon

Start Weight 244 - 9 months later 140 lbs.

I came to Dr. Khan originally for an abscess under my arm. He suggested WLS because I was diabetic and he said it would help control it better. After some thought, I decided to do it. I had my surgery May 2011, and it was the best decision of my life. I went to my endocrinologist 3 months later and my blood sugars were normal! No more insulin shots, medicines or pricking my finger four times a day. I would recommend Dr. Khan and his staff to anyone who has battled with weight loss over the years. They care, are concerned and supportive and will take great care of you.
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Denice Wilson

I'm so glad I decided to have the Gastric Bypass surgery. I feel awesome after 3 weeks. I wish I had done it when I was younger, I'm 59 years old and I feel wonderful. Thanks Dr. Khan for my new life!!
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Candia Lanning

April 4th, 2013: Dr. Khan did my Gastric Bypass surgery 10 months ago, I have come down from 258 lbs. to 123 lbs. Praise God! I feel a lot better, no more hip or joint pain. Plus I can now shop in the regular-sized part of the store. My children say, "I can hug you now and get my arms around you!" Thank you Dr. Khan for all of your help and support!
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Lerenda Cata

I'm so greatful for Dr. Khan and Ms. Tasha, they have truly been a blessing to my weight loss journey. I'm so glad I made the decision to make the life style changes to better my health & life. I'm feeling and looking great! Thank you so much for being a part of my journey.
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Robert Gesulle

Before my Bariatric surgery I was 315 lbs. and had Diabetes, high blood pressure, bad cholesterol, lethargy, no energy, and could barely walk. I was told by my Primary Care Physician to see Dr. Khan as soon as possible as my life was in serious jeopardy. At my worst, I was taking 8 pills and one shot per day for the Diabetes.

I saw Dr. Khan and we scheduled the surgery. It was done Laparoscopically and was virtually painless. I was out of the hospital in 2 days and recovered at home for about a week.

I am now 180 lbs. and feel great. No more Diabetes, no more high blood pressure problems... and I am 60 years old and feel like I did when I was 35!
I recommend this surgery and Dr. Khan to anyone who is seriously overweight. It will change your life!
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Jen Palmer

Hello, my name is Jen. Before O go further, I first and foremost want to thank Dr. Khan and his amazing staff; Latasha and Janice, for their support and encouragement through this entire process. Dr. Khan through the gift of being an outstanding surgeon have changed and outright saved my life on so many levels that I can't even begin to express my gratitude. How do you thank someone who has brought you the gift of "life"? Before my surgery, I had been heavy my whole life, never able to successfully lose weight. I had tried everything (even anorexia) to lose weight.

Finally at 34, I was exhausted by living my life heavy. I consulted with my primary care physician and they suggested Bariatric Surgery. While I was a bit scared I figured why not, what do I have to lose? (Except weight) So I made my first appointment with Dr. Khan in March 2013. At first my insurance company denied to pay for my surgery but Latasha worked her magic, got me approved, and I was scheduled for surgery August 12, 2013. This new lifestyle is an adjustment for sure but with the encouragement and support, I know I will be successful! I have already lost 39 pounds and am only 1 month past my surgery! I owe my life to Dr. Khan and his staff.
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Sonja Barney

The decision to proceed with getting the Gastric Bypass Surgery in November 2012-as a last resort to my constant struggle with high blood pressure and the need to lose weight-was the best decision I have ever made and if I had the choice to do it again...I would in a heartbeat! Weighing in at 230 pounds and only 5'2, I knew I needed to make a change!
The post-surgery recovery was very easy and relatively painless--I had the surgery on Tuesday and was back to my normal routine of carpool and work by the following Monday. The actual surgery site and the incisions never hurt and they were very well taken care of by Dr. Khan who did an exceptional job. The hospital had a floor designated just for Bariatric patients, which made it very comfortable for me. The nurses were very sensitive to all of my questions and concerns. I was up and walking the halls the same day as my surgery with no problems.
I haven't been obese all of my life, but it seems after my second child at age 27 the weight piled on like crazy! I have always been an emotional closet eater and until then it had been very easy to hide. I have tried every diet in the world. I would lose the weight and gain it back twice of what I had lost! Food has gotten me through the bad times and like most of us I enjoy it to celebrate the good times well. The weight gain was now not only a health issue; it had also started affecting my self-esteem. I've always been the life of the party and even with my weight gain I managed to hide how I really felt about myself! My husband of 14 years had even told me at one point he felt I had let myself go! I was devastated with the thoughts that he was no longer attracted to me and instead of trying to lose the weight, I put more on. My last annual checkup did not bring good news. My blood pressure was extremely high (not to mention I had already had what they call a silent heart attack prior to my appointment and had been hospitalized) and my doctor broke the news that the blood test revealed that I was now also a border line diabetic. This was the last straw, and I left the office that day with a referral for Dr. Khan. I was in his office the very next day for a consultation and never looked back. I celebrated my 40th birthday on March 4th and have never felt better! I feel like my old self again! My blood pressure is under control, I have energy, and most important, I love me again!
Life changing decisions are always difficult to make, especially when it is life or death. This decision has definitely been one I am truly proud of! Dr. Khan and his staff are the best and have made this journey so easy for me! I don't feel like just another patient, but more like family! They are always there to motivate and educate you through your journey from the very start...mentally and emotionally, and that's what separates them from the rest!
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Arthur Connell

Dear Dr. Khan,

Back in 2010 you preformed Bariatric Surgery on me. I weighed 404 pounds! I could hardly walk, I was in a wheel chair and on crutches, I couldn't work and I didn't enjoy life! after the surgery (September 12, 2013) I have now lost 156 pounds. I am able to walk again without the crutches, I no longer use the wheelchair, and I am working mowing grass.

The surgery has been a life saver for me. I will be 67 this November and I feel better than I did when I was 55
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Bruce Waldman

Dr. Ahad Khan & Staff;

Having to begin a process is hard enough. When something new not just involves but requires a serious effort it can be overwhelming. Think about this please for a moment. There are many good, qualified Bariatric doctors in the Metro Atlanta area. So why use Dr Khan ? Because Dr. Khan's himself as well as his entire staff are only focused on you. Think of it this way. When you have this surgery you are walking through a door. Once you go through that door you are ALONE. And that is scary. Dr. Khan and his staff are there to guide you. teach you, answer any and all questions but most importantly they are not there to do it for you. Ultimately the entire process is not about surgery. It is about Determination and discipline. For these reasons I highly recommend Dr Khan and his staff. The toughest decision you need to make is for you to admit to yourself that you have a problem. As you will see the rest is easy in comparison. Cause once you walk through that door Dr Khan and staff are there if you need them. That is what an office is all about superior customer service.
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Donna Helms

ATTENTION EVERYONE!!!!!!!!!

I am a 60 year old disabled female named Donna Helms. I heard about Dr. Ahad Khan from a friend that lives in my town, who had the gastric sleeve with him. After seeing how excited and pleased she was with Dr khan and his staff I decided to go and meet Dr khan and his staff my self. I was very thrilled as well as pleased with the practice. I decided at 319 lbs I needed so badly to take this journey as soon as possible. Dr Khan as well as his bariatric coordinator Latasha Fairley made it so easy for me. Latasha explained everything so well plus answered all my questions. She also with certainty that if I listened and followed the diet plan that this surgery would change my life for ever!!!!I had the Lap Gastric Sleeve 03/17/2015 I call this my new birthday date, because I am already a new person.

My surgery went GREAT!!!i HAD NO COMPLICATION!! From surgey, I was able to walk from the bed to my room, they told me I needed to walk every 4 hours,, I felt so great I was able to walk every hour on the hour, My daughter was with me and she could not believe how easy everything was, After having 4 child birth, gallbladder removal, hysterectomy, Gastric sleeve was easier then all the surgeries. Dr Khan was one of the best Dr's I have ever had,, and His staff is wonderful. I tell everyone over weight i see and know about him, The hospital Emory Johns Creek was great as well. I give it 10 stars!!!as well as the Dr and staff. I wish I would of had this operation done 20 years ago. But its ok,,, after losing 67 lbs, I am able to walk better, I sleep better, I feel better, I am coming off most of my meds, My primary care Dr thinks in the next 2 months I should be off all medication. Thank you Dr Khan and staff for my new Life, and for helping make a whole new ME!!!
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

Wendy Bassett

My name is Wendy Bassett, I am 5ft 3 inches tall My starting weight before surgey was 317lbs. May 26th, 2015 I had a Lap Gastric Sleeve done by Dr Ahad Khan. He is the best most amazing Dr EVER!!!!!! and his staff is AWESOME!!!!. Today is Febuary, 17 2016 and I am down to 197lbs. That is a TOTAL OF 122LBS lost in 8 1/2 months. This surgery is the best thing i could have ever done in my life. I would recommend this surgery to anyone that has weight issues,,, It's a totally amazing life change, and worth it, I HIGHLEY recommend Dr Ahad Khan before any Dr. My huuby will tell anyone Dr. Ahad Khan is the best.
Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery Institute

B.J. Burton

If you are looking for doctor for Lap Band, Lap Gastric Sleeve, or Gastric Bypass PLEASE!!!contact Dr Ahad Khan. Dr Ahad Khan makes you feel at ease and explains step by step what to expect before and after your surgery. His staff lead by the wonderful Ms. Latasha will make you feel like family, they are so caring. So once again, please seek out Dr. Ahad Khan you won't regret it. Good luck and God bless.